Library Home > Resources > Subject Guides > Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Recreation Therapy
Reference Guides & Resources


Books

To expand your research to books not located in the Library's Local Catalog or online in netLibrary, you may request other books through Interlibrary Loan or check them out from libraries in the Montgomery Higher Education Consortium. Alabama Libraries and the WorldCat (ASU) database are sites for locating materials in other libraries.

Journal Articles

The best method for finding journal articles is to use one of the Library's online databases. For additional information on the databases listed below and for others, explore our list of databases. Our Databases are easily accessible off campus by clicking on the database name and typing in the information requested. If you need additional assistance with accessing the databases, contact Cedric Davis at (334) 229-6998.


Some of the databases provide access to the entire text of articles. If the text of an article is not available in a database, check for the journal title in E-Journal Finder (ASU) to determine if the article is available in another online database. E-Journal Finder does not include all the databases available at ASU, so be sure to check the following links to electronic journals.

Databases with electonic journals include Oxford Journals Online (ASU) and ScienceDirect (ASU) . Online indexes that provide links to journals that may be available are FreeMedicalJournals, FindArticles, and BioMedCentral. Access to the New England Journal of Medicine is available.

Also check the online Local Catalog, for availability of journals in the Serials Department on the third floor. Materials not available in the Library or via a full-text database may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

Top of page

 

Dictionaries

MedlinePlus Medical Dictionary

Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy

Health Reference RC 55 .M42

Stedman's Medical Dictionary, 27th ed.
Health Reference R 121 .S84 2000

Stedman's Abbreviations, Acronyms & Symbols, 3rd ed.
Health Reference R 123 .S84 2003

Dictionary of Medical Syndromes, 4th ed.
Health Reference RC 69 .M33 1997

Top of page

 

Statistical Sources

National Center for Health Statistics

Social Statistics Briefing Room: Health

Statistical Abstract of the United States

FedStats

Centers for Disease Control

United States Historical Census Browser

Statistical Resources on the Web

Top of page

 

Research & Methodology

Researching therapist : a practical guide to planning, performing, and communicating research
Main Stax RM 708 .J46 1998

Research methods for clinical therapists : applied project design and analysis
Main Stax RM 708 H53 1999

Research in therapeutic recreation : concepts and methods
Main Stax RM 736.7 .R47 1993

Standards of practice for therapeutic recreation services and annotated bibliography
Main Reference RM 736.7 .S73 1995

Top of page

 

Associations

National Therapeutic Recreation Society

American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance

Alabama State Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance

National Recreation and Park Association

Alabama Recreation and Parks Association

Top of page

 

Legal Resources

Findlaw Internet Legal Resources - Health Law

Law Dictionary

U.S. Federal Court's Home Page

Lectric Law Library Lexicon-Dictionary

Internet Legal Resource Guide

Top of page

 

Government Information

Federal and state governments publish a plethora of information on many topics. Although the University Library is not a depository for government documents, you can request documents through Interlibrary Loan. . You may also visit the Library at Auburn University Montgomery, which is a depository.

Top of page

 

Federal Government Information

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

National Institutes of Health

National Library of Medicine

GPO Monthly Catalog (ASU)

Thomas: Legislative Information on the Internet

Top of page

 

Alabama Government Information

Alabama.gov

Alabama Department of Public Health

Alabama Legislative Reference Service

Alabama Administrative Code

Top of page

 

International Resources

International Council for Health, Physical Education, Recreation, Sport, and Dance (ICHPERSD)

Top of page

Citation Style

You will use the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association to cite your sources. A copy of the Manual is available at the Reference Desk on the first floor of the Library.

APA Style

Citation Machine

Top of page

 

World Wide Web

The World Wide Web is an outstanding but often bewildering source of information. Not everything you find will be authoritative, accurate, and valid. Try searching one of these databases to find more reliable Web sites.

INFOMINE Scholarly Internet Resource Collections

Librarians' Index to the Internet

Top of page

 

Return to main page

 



Library Home Page
University Home Page