Library Home > Resources > Subject Guides > Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Occupational Therapy
Reference Guides & Resources

 

Books

To expand your research to materials not located in the Library HORNetCat or online in netLibrary (ASU), you may request other materials through Interlibrary Loan or check them out from libraries in the Montgomery Higher Education Consortium, Other Libraries, and the WorldCat (ASU) database are sites for locating materials in other libraries.

Journal Articles

The best method for finding journal articles is to use one of the Library's online article databases. For additional information on the databases explore our list of databases. Our Databases are easily accessible off campus by clicking on the database name and typing in the information requested. If you need additional assistance with accessing the databases, contact Cedric Davis at (334) 229-6998.


Some of the databases provide access to the entire text of articles. If the text of an article is not available in a database, check for the journal title in E-Journal Finder(ASU) to determine if the article is available in another online database. Serials Solutions does not include all the databases available at ASU, so be sure to check the following links to electronic journals.

Databases with electonic journals include Oxford Journals Online (ASU) and ScienceDirect (ASU). Online indexes that provide links to journals that may be available are FreeMedicalJournals, Directory of Open Access Journals, and BioMedCentral. Online access to American Journal of Occupational Therapy, New England Journal of Medicine and YourJournals@Ovid (ASU) are avialable.

Also check HORNetCat , our online catalog, for availability of journals in the Serials Department on the third floor. Materials not available in the Library or via a full-text database may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

Top of page

 

Dictionaries

Quick Reference Dictionary for Occupational Therapy.
Health Reference RM 735.J33 2004

Glossary of recreation therapy and occupational therapy
Health Reference RM 736.7 A97 2001

MedlinePlus Medical Dictionary

Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
Health Reference RC 55 .M42

Stedman's Medical Dictionary, 27th ed.
Health Reference R 121 .S84 2000

Stedman's Abbreviations, Acronyms & Symbols, 3rd ed.
Health Reference R 123 .S84 2003

Dictionary of Medical Syndromes, 4th ed.
Health Reference RC 69 .M33 1997

 Top of page

 

Atlases

Visible Human Project

Atlas of Human Anatomy (Netter)
Main Reference QM 25 .N46 1995

Grant's atalas of anatomy
Health Reference QM 25.G7

McMinn's Color Atlas of Human Anatomy
Main Reference QM 25 .M23 2003

Top of page

 

Statistical Sources

National Center for Health Statistics

Social Statistics Briefing Room: Health

Statistical Abstract of the United States

FedStats

Centers for Disease Control

United States Historical Census Browser

Statistical Resources on the Web

Basic Allied Health Statistics and Analysis
Main Stax: R 853.S7 K63 2000

Top of page

Research & Methodology

Documenting Occupational Therapy Practice.
Main Stax RM 735.4 .S26 2005

Researching therapist : a practical guide to planning, performing, and communicating research.
Main Stax RM 708 .J46 1998

Theoretical Basis of Occupational Therapy, 2nd ed.
Health Reference 735.M33 2003

Top of page

Associations

American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA)

American Occupational Therapy Foundation (AOTF)

Alabama Occupational Therapy Association

Alabama State Board of Occupational Therapy

National Board of Certification in Occupational Therapy

National Council Against Health Fraud (NCAHF)

Top of page

Legal Resources

Findlaw Internet Legal Resources - Health Law

Law Dictionary

U.S. Federal Court's Home Page

Lectric Law Library Lexicon-Dictionary

Internet Legal Resource Guide

1996 Occupational Therapy Code of Rthics : Reference Guide
Health Reference RM 735.4 .A44 1996

Top of page

Government Information

Federal and state governments publish a plethora of information on many topics. Although the University Library is not a depository for government documents, you can request documents through Interlibrary Loan. . You may also visit the Library at Auburn University Montgomery, which is a depository.

Top of page

Federal Government Information

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

National Institutes of Health

National Library of Medicine

National Council Against Health Fraud (NCAHF)

GPO Monthly Catalog (ASU)

Thomas: Legislative Information on the Internet

Top of page

Alabama Government Information

Alabama.gov

Alabama Department of Public Health

Alabama Legislative Reference Service

Alabama Administrative Code

Top of page

International Resources

Australian Association of Occupational Therapists

Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists

British Association of Occupational Therapists, College of Occupational Therapists

World Health Organization

World Bank Data & Statistics

United Nations Development Program (UNDP)

Top of page

Citation Style

You will use the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association to cite your sources. A copy of the Manual is available at the Reference Desk on the first floor of the Library.

APA Style Quick Reference

APA Style

Citation Machine

A Guide for Writing Research Papers

Top of page

World Wide Web

The World Wide Web is an outstanding but often bewildering source of information. Not everything you find will be authoritative, accurate, and valid. Try searching one of these databases to find more reliable Web sites.

BUBL LINK Catalogue of Internet Resources

INFOMINE Scholarly Internet Resource Collections

Librarians' Index to the Internet

Scout Report Archives

Top of page

 

Return to main page

 



Library Home Page
University Home Page