|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
Guide
to Finding Industry Information |
||||||||||||||||||
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
Companies that manufacture similar
products fall within a certain industry; for example, companies within the tire
manufacturing industry include such names as: Goodyear, Michelin,
Bridgestone, Cooper, etc. The U.S. Government began an organizational system
known as the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) that has now changed
(but is still being used in some resources) as a result of the North American
Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) to include |
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
North American Industry
Classification System (NAICS) (Approved
by Dr. McNeal for his classes) |
|||||||||||||||||
|
|
Bridge Between NAICS and SIC Use the bridge format at this website to connect SIC codes to NAICS and
vice versa. (Approved
by Dr. McNeal for his classes) |
|||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
The easiest way to search for the correct Industry information
is to first search for a leading company in the industry. Click on the Company icon. Enter the company name or
ticker symbol. Select “Ultimate Parent”
to find the parent company, then click Search. Results
may list more than one company; select the correct company from the list. Use
the tabs located at the top of the document to display specific information (Industry
Overviews, Associations, etc.). |
||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
In "Advanced Search" select "Industry
Overview" under "Publication Type" and deselect “All.” You can
then retrieve a variety of excellent industry reports by entering an industry
into the search box, e.g. hotels. Includes DataMonitor Industry
& Company reports. |
||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
An industry's financial and profitability ratios can be used
when comparing a company's performance with that of the industry. Data within
each industry is usually arranged according to asset size. |
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
Annual
Statement Studies (eStatement Studies) |
|||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
Uses
more than 190,000 financial statements to produce industry composites of financial
data. Balance sheet and income statement information is shown in common size
format, with each item a percentage of total assets and sales. Common size
statements are computed for each individual statement in an industry group,
then aggregated and averaged. eStatement
Studies is organized according to the NAICS. Data is presented in six areas,
which can be selected from the menu-bar below the data set: The three sets of
Financial Ratio Benchmarks
data (FRB assets, FRB History, and FRB Sales), and the three sets of Industry Default Probabilities
and Cash Flow Measures data (IDP
Assets, IDP History, and IDP Sales). |
||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
The easiest way to search for the correct Industry information
is to first search for a leading company in the industry. From the S&P NetAdvantage homepage, enter the company name in the “Enter”
box located in the right side menu bar. Use the drop-down menus to select the
type of publication you desire. Then select whether you are searching by the
company’s name or ticker symbol. Search results may list more than one
company; select the correct company from the list. From the left menu bar,
select the desired information (Stock Reports, Industry Surveys, etc.). When
available, select the PDF version of documents (shows all images of charts, graphics,
etc.). |
||||||||||||||||
|
|
Industry
Data & Trend Analysis (International Trade Administration) (Approved
by Dr. McNeal for his classes) |
|||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
ABI/INFORM
offers articles from a wide array of sources, including journals, industry publications,
regional business news publications, and the Wall Street Journal. For best
results, click on the green “Topics Guide” tab at the top of the screen. To search for articles on the hotel industry simply type,
"hotel industry". You can use the tabs at the top of the
results list to look at trade publications or newspapers only. |
||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
In "Advanced Search" click
on "Industry Report"
under "Publication Type." You can then retrieve a variety of
industry reports by entering an industry into the search box, e.g. airlines. |
||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
Browse/Search for additional journals
by Title or Industry: |
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
Industry-specific
Journals
(Business & Economics) |
|||||||||||||||||
|
|
Full-Text
Business Journals (Browse by Business Subject Headings) |
|||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
Industry
Data & Trend Analysis (International
Trade Administration) (Approved
by Dr. McNeal for his classes) |
|||||||||||||||||
|
|
(Approved
by Dr. McNeal for his classes) |
|||||||||||||||||
|
|
(Approved
by Dr. McNeal for his classes) |
|||||||||||||||||
|
|
(Approved
by Dr. McNeal for his classes) |
|||||||||||||||||
|
|
(Approved
by Dr. McNeal for his classes) |
|||||||||||||||||
|
|
(Approved
by Dr. McNeal for his classes) |
|||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
Glossary
of Financial Terms (S&P NetAdvantage): Click on the “Glossary”
link at the very top-right of the page. |
|||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
Library’s Business Administration Main Page |
||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
Provides
in-depth research on management issues, economic indicators and business
theories and practices, as well as on the activities of companies and
industries worldwide. |
||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
Provides
coverage of specific company, industry, executives, and product issues and
events. Also includes NewsBank Maps: A collection
of world, country, continent, region and state maps in 3 views – political,
physical, and black/white without text. |
||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
A global
database of over 28,000 U.S. and International companies providing detailed
business history, 15 years of financials including balance sheet, income
statement, and ratio analysis, annual reports from 1997 forward, real-time
Edgar filings and more. |
||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
Convenient
way to find complete SEC filings (10-K, 13-D, etc.). Search for your company
by name or ticker symbol to view available reports. Use the menu on the left
side of the screen to view Quotes, Analyst Research, Ratings, Ratios,
Statements, and more. |
||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
Compiles
detailed information on more than 13 million |
||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
Alphabetical listing of all databases available from the
University Library. |
||||||||||||||||
|
|
Free Management Library for
For-Profit and Nonprofit Organizations |
|||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
Industry Reference Handbooks
(Gale/Dunn and Bradstreet) |
|||||||||||||||||
|
|
Available
in Main Reference (1st floor): REF HF 5035 .D86 |
|||||||||||||||||
|
|
International Directory of
Company Histories |
|||||||||||||||||
|
|
Available
in Main Reference (1st floor): REF HD 2721 .I63 |
|||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
Need more help? Use our
Ask a
Librarian service to
get further assistance. |
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
Library Homepage | University Homepage | COBA Network | COBA Blackboard Hornet’s Web | WeBWork
| ASU Student Email | ASU COBA Webpage |
ASU Blackboard |
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
||||||||||||||||||