Health Information Management
Reference Guides & Resources
To expand your research to materials not located in the online Local Catalog or in netLibrary (ASU) , you may request other materials through Interlibrary Loan or check them out from libraries in the Montgomery Higher Education Consortium. Other Libraries and the MALCat (ASU) database are sites for locating materials in other libraries.
The best method for finding journal articles is to use one of the Library's online article databases. For additional information on the databases listed below and for others, explore our list of databases. Our Databases are easily accessible off campus by clicking on the database name and typing in the information requested. If you need additional assistance with accessing the databases, contact Cedric Davis at (334) 229-6998.
Some of the databases provide access to the entire text of articles. If the text of an article is not available in a database, check for the journal title in E-Journal Finder (ASU) to determine if the article is available in another online database. Serials Solutions does not include all the databases available at ASU, so be sure to check the following links to electronic journals.
Databases with electonic journals include Oxford Journals Online (ASU) and ScienceDirect (ASU). Online indexes that provide links to journals that may be available are FreeMedicalJournals, Directory of Open Access Journals, and BioMedCentral. Electronic journals that may be of interest are Perspectives in Health Information Management, and the New England Journal of Medicine.
Also check the Local Catalog, our online catalog, for availability of journals in the Serials Department on the third floor. Materials not available in the Library or via a full-text database may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
MedlinePlus Medical Dictionary
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
Health Reference RC 55 .M42
Stedman's Medical Dictionary, 27th ed.
Health Reference R 121 .S84 2000
Stedman's Abbreviations, Acronyms & Symbols, 3rd ed.
Health Reference R 123 .S84 2003
Dictionary of Medical Syndromes, 4th ed.
Health Reference RC 69 .M33 1997
National Center for Health Statistics
Social Statistics Briefing Room: Health
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Statistical Resources on the Web
Basic Allied Health Statistics and Analysis
Main Stax R 853.S7 K63 2000
American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA)
American Medical Informatics Association (AMIA)
Alabama Association of Health Information Management (AAHIM)
Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO)
Findlaw Internet Legal Resources - Health Law
U.S. Federal Court's Home Page
Lectric Law Library Lexicon-Dictionary
Federal and state governments publish a plethora of information on many topics. Although the University Library is not a depository for government documents, you can request documents through Interlibrary Loan. You may also visit the Library at Auburn University Montgomery, which is a depository.
Federal Government Information
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
National Council Against Health Fraud (NCAHF)
GPO Monthly Catalog (ASU)
Thomas: Legislative Information on the Internet
Alabama Government Information
Alabama Department of Public Health
Alabama Legislative Reference Service
United Nations Development Program (UNDP)
You will use the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association to cite your sources. A copy of the Manual is available at the Reference Desk on the first floor of the Library.
The World Wide Web is an outstanding but often bewildering source of information. Not everything you find will be authoritative, accurate, and valid. Try searching one of these databases to find more reliable Web sites.
BUBL LINK Catalogue of Internet Resources
INFOMINE Scholarly Internet Resource Collections
Librarians' Index to the Internet