Library Home > Resources > Subject Guides > Subject Guides

Subject Guides

ASU Library Resources
College of Education (COE)

Books Journal Articles Dictionaries Statistical Sources Associations
Research and Methodology Legal Resources Citation Style Helpful Websites Education News

New Acquisitions

COE New Arrivals 2006-2008

Research Guides

Books

To expand your research to materials not located in the online Local Catalog or in netLibrary (ASU), you may request other materials through Interlibrary Loan or check them out from libraries in the Montgomery Higher Education Consortium. Other Libraries and the MALCat (ASU) database are sites for locating materials in other libraries.

 

Journal Articles

The best method for finding journal articles is to use one of the Library's online article databases. For additional information on the databases listed below and for others, explore our list of databases. Our Databases are easily accessible off campus by clicking on the database name and typing in the information requested. If you need additional assistance with accessing the databases, contact Cedric Davis at (334) 229-6998.

Some of the databases provide access to the entire text of articles. If the text of an article is not available in a database, check for the journal title in E-Journal Finder (ASU) to determine if the article is available in another online database. Serials Solutions does not include all the databases available at ASU, so be sure to check the following links to electronic journals.

Databases with electronic journals include EBSCOhost EJS, Oxford Journals, and Education Full Text. Online indexes that provide links to journals include Academic OneFile and Professional Collection. Electronic journals that may be of interest are Educational Leadership, Educational Researcher, and Journal of Education.

Also check the Local Catalog, our online catalog, for availability of journals in the Serials Department on the third floor. Materials not available in the Library or via a full-text database may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

International Electronic Journal for Leadership

Directory of Open Access Journals

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Multicultural Education
Main Reference LC 1099 .D53 1997

Education and the Law : A Dictionary
Main Reference KF 4117 .T39 1996

The Greenwood Dictionary of Education
http://www.netlibrary.com/Details.aspx

 

Statistical Sources

Digest of Education Statistics 2003
Main Reference LB 2846 .D48 2003

Education Statistics of the United States
http://www.netlibrary.com/Details.aspx

U.S. Census Bureau
http://www.census.gov/main/

OECD Factbook 2010
http://www.oecd-ilibrary.org/economics/oecd-factbook-2010_factbook-2010-en

 

Associations

National Education Association
http://www.nea.org/index.html

Alabama Education Association
http://www.myaea.org/

Alabama Instructional Media Association
http://www.alaima.org/

National Council for Higher Education
http://www2.nea.org/he/nche/index.html

The International Society for Educational Planning
http://www.isep.info/

National Policy Board for Educational Administration
http://www.npbea.org/

Alabama Council for Technology in Education
http://alcte.org/index.cfm

Southern Regional Council on Educational Administration
http://srcea.edu.googlepages.com/

American Educational Research Association
http://www.aera.net/

Association for Institutional Research
http://www.airweb.org/

International Congress for School Effectiveness and Improvement
http://www.icsei.net/

 

Research and Methodology

Educational research : planning, conducting, and evaluating quantitative and qualitative research
Creswell, John W.
Location: Main Stax
Call Number: LB 1028 .C74 2008
Effective teacher leadership : using research to inform and reform
Location: Main Stax
Call Number: LB 1025.3 .E36 2008
Educational research : quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches 
Johnson, Burke
Location: Main Stax
Call Number: LB 1028 .J64 2008
Comparative education research : approaches and methods
Location: Main Stax
Call Number: LB 43 .C668 2007
Research and educational leadership : navigating the new National Research Council guidelines 
Location: Main Stax
Call Number: LB 1028.2 .R47 2007
The SAGE handbook of research in international education
Location: Main Stax
Call Number: LB 1090 .S29 2007
Foundations of Behavioral Research
Kerlinger, F.N.
Location: Main Stax
Call Number: BF 765.5 .K4 1973
Scientific Research in Education
National Research Council
Location: Main Stax
Call Number: LB 1028 .N37 2002
Methods in educational research : from theory to practice
Lodico, Marguerite G.
Location: Main Stax
Call Number: LB 1028 .L63 2006
Exploring research 
Salkind, Neil J.
Location: Main Stax
Call Number: BF 76.5 .S24 2006
Foundations for research : methods of inquiry in education and the social sciences
Location: Main Stax
Call Number: LB 1028 .F68 2004
Educational research in practice : making sense of methodology 
Location: Main Stax
Call Number: LB 1028 .E38 2003

Legal Resources

LegalTrac

Findlaw Internet Legal Resources – News and Reference

LexisNexis Academic Universe

WestLaw Campus

Law Dictionary

U.S. Federal Court's Home Page

Lectric Law Library Lexicon-Dictionary

Internet Legal Resource Guide

 

Citation Style

You will use the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association to cite your sources. A copy of the Manual is available at the Reference Desk on the first floor of the Library.

APA Online

Citation Machine

A Guide for Writing Research Papers

 

Helpful Websites

The World Wide Web is an outstanding but often bewildering source of information. Not everything you find will be authoritative, accurate, and valid. The following internet resources may be helpful for conducting online research.

Believe It

CAN-DO-Nation

INFOMINE Scholarly Internet Resource Collections

ipl2 (Internet Public Library)

Scout Report Archives

International Bureau of Education

 

Education News