|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Guide
to Finding Company Information |
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Most
companies can be classified as either “public” or “private.” Public companies
sell stock to the general public, so anyone can buy shares in the company and
become an owner. Because of this, the federal government requires public
companies to release a great deal of information about their finances and
operations. Private companies are usually held by individuals or families.
Because shares in the company are not available for sale to the general
public, the companies are not required to release information about
themselves. It can be much more difficult to find information about a private
company. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Many
large companies actually own all or part of other companies. The owning
company is called the “parent” and the company that it owns is called the
“subsidiary.” If the parent owns the subsidiary completely, the financial
information about the subsidiary will probably not be available in any
detail. Instead, the financial information for all the subsidiaries will be
combined into the “consolidated” financial statements of the parent company.
Sometimes the parent only owns a fraction of the subsidiary; in those cases,
the subsidiary may release its own financial statements. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
Use Mergent to find the subsidiaries of a parent company.
First, search for your company. Under the “Company Details” tab, choose the “Subsidiaries”
link. You will see a table for all subsidiaries, their percentage owned by
the parent, and their country. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
Directory of Corporate
Affiliations |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
Available
in Main Reference (1st floor): REF HG 4057 .A221 D57 |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
Use the index
to find your company. Lists subsidiaries and ownership, along with standard
directory information. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
There are
several databases that will provide a great deal of basic information about a
company. Here are a few of the best. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
Search
for your company to see a fact sheet. Use the blue menu on the left side of
the screen to get more information, such as brief financial statements,
history, competitors, and more. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
Click on the Company
icon. Enter the company name or ticker symbol. Select “Ultimate Parent” to find the parent company, then click Search. Results may list more than one company;
select the correct company from the list. Use the tabs located at the top of
the document to display specific information (Histories, Rankings, Financials,
products, etc.) Don’t forget that news
articles are excellent sources for analysis and explanations of events and
activities. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
There
are several types of financial statements. For information on assets and liabilities,
look at the balance sheet. For revenues and profit, look at the income
statement. Public companies report their financial statements in several
different filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). In
addition to the numbers, these filings and reports may contain text with more
information about the company. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
Search for
your company to see a fact sheet. Use the menu on the left side of the screen
to get annual or quarterly financial information. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
Convenient
way to find complete SEC filings (10-K, 13-D, etc.). Search for your company
by name or ticker symbol to view available reports. Use the menu on the left
side of the screen to view Quotes, Analyst Research, Ratings, Ratios,
Statements, and more. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
This
database contains very detailed information. Search for your company, then use
the “company Financials” tab to get data and analysis. Use the “EDGAR” tab to
view the complete text of SEC filings; use the “Annual Reports” tab to view a
PDF version of the company’s annual report to shareholders. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
EDGAR
(http://www.sec.gov/edgar.shtml) (Approved
by Dr. McNeal for his classes) |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
View the
complete text of companies’ filings with the Securities and Exchange
Commission. Includes 10-K (annual) and 10-Q (quarterly) reports, proxies, and
others. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Stock
and bond prices are reported regularly on numerous free websites and in newspapers
like the Wall Street Journal. The resources below provide additional
background and details. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
Search for
your company, then look in the “Company Details” tab. The section called
“Long Term Debt” gives information on bonds and notes; the section called
“Capital Stock” gives information on common and preferred stock, including
stock splits, shares outstanding, etc. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
BigCharts
(http://www.bigcharts.com) |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
Need a
graph of your stock’s performance? Visit this website and use the “Quick
Chart” button at the top of the screen. The website will provide a chart of
the stock’s performance for the period you choose, along with trading volume.
The site also provides other interesting tools for monitoring stock market
performance. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
Value Line Investment Survey |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
Available
in Serials (3rd floor):
Shelved alphabetically by title |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
Value
Line analyzes stock performance and gives recommendations for buying and
selling. Companies are grouped by industry, and the industry performance is
also analyzed. Also available Online. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
Standard & Poor’s Dividend
Record |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
Available
at Main Reference Desk (1st floor): REF HG 4908 .S77 |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
Provides
a record of quarterly dividends issued by companies, along with declared date,
ex-dividend date, etc. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
Standard & Poor’s Bond Guide |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
Available
at Main Reference Desk (1st floor): REF HG 4905 .S73 |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
A
monthly, compact publication providing comparative financial and statistical information
on over 7,600 bonds. Most of the listed bonds are corporate, but some
municipal, foreign, and convertible bonds are included. S&P ratings are
supplied. Also
available in Database: Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
Standard & Poor’s Stock
Guide |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
Available
at Main Reference Desk (1st floor): REF HG 4921 .S75 |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
A monthly,
compact publication providing comparative financial and statistical
information on over 7,000 issues. The Stock Guide provides S&P stock
ratings as well as earnings and dividends. Also
available in Database: Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Analysts
at investment and research firms track company performance so they can advise
their customers or sell the information to other investors. These databases
provide access to analyst reports. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
Great
source for Company and Industry Profiles. Includes Country and Market
Research Reports. Click on “Company
Profiles” then browse for your company name to see a Datamonitor
report for this company. Many profiles contain a SWOT analysis for the
company. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
Click on the Company
icon. Enter the company name or ticker symbol. Select “Ultimate Parent” to find the parent company, then click Search. Results may list more than one company;
select the correct company from the list. Click on the “Investment Reports” tab at the top of the document to get a list
of available reports. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Want to know
who your company is competing against? Here’s the easiest place to look. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
Search for
your company to see a fact sheet. Use the blue menu on the left side of the
screen and click on “Competitors” to get a complete list. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Simply stated,
market share is the total sales of an organization divided by the sales of
the market they serve. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
Click on the Company
icon. Enter the company name or ticker symbol. Select “Ultimate Parent” to find the parent company, then click Search. Results may list more than one company;
select the correct company from the list. Click on the “Rankings” tab at the top of the document, then
click on the small “Market Share”
tab below the main tab menu. Market share data is not always available under
this tab; you can also try clicking on the “Industry Overview” tab and the
“Market Research” tab underneath. If this doesn’t work, use the search box at
the top of the page to search for your company’s industry and look under
these tabs again. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Use
financial and profitability ratios to compare your company’s performance to
the industry’s performance. (To learn how to find industry ratios, see our Guide
to Finding Industry Information.) |
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
Search
for your company to see a fact sheet. Use the blue menu on the left side of the
screen and click on “Financials” and then “Comparison Data.” |
||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
Search
for your company, then click on the “Company Financials” tab. Next, click on
“Ratios.” |
||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
Click on
the Companies tab at the top of the site. On the Companies main page you
can use the drop-down menus to access the Company Profile by using the
"Search by Company" tool and entering a ticker symbol or
company name. Use the links menu at the left of the document to select
different types of information on your company (i.e., Financials, Stock
Reports, etc.). |
||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
Annual
Statement Studies (eStatement Studies) |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
Uses more
than 190,000 financial statements to produce industry composites of financial
data. Balance sheet and income statement information is shown in common size
format, with each item a percentage of total assets and sales. Common size
statements are computed for each individual statement in an industry group,
then aggregated and averaged. eStatement
Studies is organized according to the NAICS. Data is presented in six areas,
which can be selected from the menu-bar below the data set: The three sets of
Financial Ratio Benchmarks
data (FRB assets, FRB History, and FRB Sales), and the three sets of Industry Default Probabilities
and Cash Flow Measures data (IDP
Assets, IDP History, and IDP Sales). |
||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
A
company’s financial reports can provide an overview of the performance of the
organization’s leadership (CEO, CFO, etc.). Articles are the best source for
obtaining more specific information about the actions taken by a company’s
CEO, etc., which lead to the company’s growth or decline. Finding information
about CEO’s, CFO’s, and other company leadership personnel is relatively easy
for public companies. Basic factual information may even be included in a
“company overview” report. Unless a company/leader has been recognized in the
news media at some point, finding information for private company
CEO’s/personnel may require searching a variety of other resources. Start by
consulting articles in business news magazines, financial newspapers, and
industry trade publications. Search for a company to find the name(s) of the
person(s) you wish to research. Here are some places to find articles and a
selection of titles related to human behavior in organizations. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
Use the
search screen to look for articles. Put the company’s name in the “Find:” box;
for best results, you could change the “in” box to “CO Company Entity.” |
||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
For most
specific results, use the search box at the top of the page to search for
your company. Click on the “News/Magazines” tab to see a list of articles on
the company. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
ABI/INFORM
offers articles from a wide array of sources, including journals, industry
publications, regional business news publications, and the Wall Street Journal.
For best results, click on the green “Advanced Search” tab at the top of the
screen. Put your company name in the search box, and change “Citation and
abstract” to “Company/Org.” You can use the tabs at the top of the results
list to look at trade publications or newspapers only. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
Classics of Organization Theory |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
Available
in Main Stax (3rd floor): HD 31 .C56 2005 |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
Individual Differences and
Development in Organizations |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
Human Behavior in the Work
Environment: a Managerial Perspective |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
Available
in Main Stax (3rd floor): HD 58.7 .F7 |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
Human Behavior at Work :
Organizational Behavior |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
Available
in Main Stax (3rd floor): HD 58.7 .D36 1977 |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
Human Behavior in Business |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
Available
in Main Stax (3rd floor): HM 251 .R85 |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
Human Behavior at Work; Human
Relations and Organizational Behavior |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
Available
in Main Stax (3rd floor): HD 6971 .D33 1972 |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
Management |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
Available
in Main Stax (3rd floor): HD 31 .R63 2005 |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
The New Workplace a Guide to the
Human Impact of Modern Working Practices |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
Available
in Main Reference (1st floor): REF HD 30.27 .U7 |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
Search
for your company to see a fact sheet. Use the blue menu on the left side of
the screen and click on “History.” |
||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
International Directory of
Company Histories |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
Available
at Main Reference Desk (1st floor): REF HD 2721 .I63 |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
Over
sixty volumes provide company histories for a wide range of companies
throughout the world. Look in the index of the last volume to find the most
recent chapter on your company. Use the volume and pages shown in bold print
to get the most complete information. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
As
explained at the beginning of this guide, it can be difficult to find information
about private companies. Here are a few suggestions. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
This database
is an online directory of more than 12 million businesses. Use the “Quick
Search” tab to search by company name or use the “Custom Search” to create a
search form for searching by geographic area, yellow page category, company
size, etc. Results lists give data such as contact person, number of
employees, and estimated sales. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
Includes
information on private companies. Entries may not be quite as extensive as
those for public companies, but much good information is available. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
ABI/INFORM
offers articles from a wide array of sources, including journals, industry
publications, regional business news publications, and the Wall Street
Journal. For best results, click on the green “Advanced Search” tab at the
top of the screen. Put your company name in the search box, and change
“Citation and abstract” to “Company/Org.” You can use the tabs at the top of
the results list to look at trade publications or newspapers only. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
Click on the Company icon. Enter the company name or ticker symbol. Select “Ultimate Parent” to find the parent company, then click Search. Results may list more than one company; select the correct company from the list. | ||||||||||||||||||||||||