Chemistry Reference Guides & Resources
To expand your research to books not located in the Library Catalog or online in netLibrary, you may request other books through Interlibrary Loan or check them out from libraries in the Montgomery Higher Education Consortium. Alabama Libraries and the WorldCat (ASU) database are sites for locating materials in other libraries.
The best method for finding journal articles is to use one of the Library's online article databases. For additional information on the databases listed below and for others, explore our list of databases. Our Databases are easily accessible off campus by clicking on the database name and typing in the information requested. If you need additional assistance with accessing the databases, contact Cedric Davis at (334) 229-6998.
Some of the databases provide access to the entire text of articles. If the text of an article is not available in a database, check for the journal title in E-Journal Finder (ASU) to
determine if the article is available in another online database. Serials Solutions does not include all the databases available at ASU, so be sure to check the following links to electronic journals.
Databases with electonic journals include Oxford Journals Online (ASU) and ScienceDirect (ASU) . Online indexes that provide links to journals that may be available are Directory of Open Access Journals and FindArticles.
Also check the Library Catalog, for availability of journals in the Serials Department on the third floor. Materials not available in the Library or via a full-text database may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
Hutchinson Pocket Dictionary of Chemistry (ASU)
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Chemistry
Main Reference: QD 4 .M33 1997
Concise Encyclopedia Chemistry
Main Reference: QD 4 .A23 1994
The McGraw-Hill Online Encyclopedia of Science and Technology (ASU)
MEDLINEplus Medical Dictionary
International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) Nomenclature
Statistics for Analytical Chemistry (Widener University)
FedStats
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Statistical Resources on the Web (University of Michigan)
Chemometrics: staistics and computer application in analytical chemistry
Main Stax: QD 75.4 .S8 O88 1999
American Chemical Society
Chemical Abstracts Service
Alabama Academy of Science
Law Dictionary
U.S. Federal Court's Home Page
Internet Legal Resource Guide
Federal and state governments publish a plethora of information on many topics. Although the University Library is not a depository for government documents, you can request documents through Interlibrary Loan. . You may also visit the Library at Auburn University Montgomery, which is a depository.
Federal Government Information
U. S. Chemical Safety and Hazard Investigation Board
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
National Institutes of Health
National Science Foundation
GPO Monthly Catalog (ASU)
Alabama Government Information
Alabama.gov
Alabama Department of Public Health
Alabama Legislative Reference Service
Alabama Administrative Code
National Biological Infromation Infrastructure (NBII) - Alabama
World Health Organization
United Nations Development Program (UNDP)
You will use the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association to cite your sources. A copy of the Manual is available at the Reference Desk on the first floor of the Library.
Citation Machine
APA Style
Brief Guide to Citing Government Publications (University of Memphis)
The World Wide Web is an outstanding but often bewildering source of information. Not everything you find will be authoritative, accurate, and valid. Try searching one of these databases to find more reliable Web sites.
BUBL LINK Catalogue of Internet ResourcesINFOMINE Scholarly Internet Resource Collections
Librarians' Index to the Internet
Scout Report Archives